Home
Elsevier Science
Information for Contributors
Past Issues
Editor
           

 

Research in the Sociology of Work,

Volume 12: The Sociology of Job Training

2003

edited by Professor David B. Bills

Planning, Policy, and Leadership Studies
N491 Lindquist Ctr.
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
email:  david-bills@uiowa.edu

ttp://www.uiowa.edu/~sfe/dbills/sfe_dbills.html

INTRODUCTION:  THE SOCIOLOGY OF JOB TRAINING
David B. Bills  
(david-bills@uiowa.edu)

PART I.  REASSESSING THE CORE ASSUMPTIONS OF HUMAN CAPITAL THEORY: BEYOND GENERAL AND SPECIFIC SKILLS

FATTENIN’ FROGS FOR SNAKES? COMPANY INVESTMENTS IN JOB SKILLS TRAINING
David Knoke (knoke@atlas.socsci.umn.edu)
and Song Yang (yangw@cavern.uark.edu)

HIRING AND TRAINING IN KOREAN ESTABLISHMENTS: DO EMPLOYERS SUBSTITUTE MAKING FOR BUYING?
Wonsup Chang (wchang@yonsei.ac.kr)


REGULATING AFFECTIVE LABOR: COMMUNICATION SKILLS TRAINING IN THE HEALTH CARE INDUSTRY
Ariel M. Ducey (aducey@gc.cuny.edu)
, Heather Gautney, and Dominic Wetzel

WHAT SKILLS TO TRAIN? AN INSTITUTIONAL ANALYSIS OF TRAINING CONSULTING ORGANIZATIONS
Xiaowei Luo (luo2@uiuc.edu)


JOB TRAINING AS BUSINESS AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT: REFRAMING THEORY AND PRACTICE 
Mary Ellen Boyle (mboyle@clarku.edu)
and Janet Boguslaw

PART II. INDUCING EMPLOYERS TO PROVIDE SKILLS

THE CONNECTION BETWEEN TRAINING POLICIES AND INVESTMENT IN GENERAL SKILLS
Laura Cruz-Castro (laura.cruz@iesam.csic.es)
and Gavan Conlon

VOCATIONAL TRAINING AND THE TRANSITION TO THE FIRST JOB IN GERMANY:  NEW RISKS AT LABOR MARKET ENTRY?
Dirk Konietzka (konietzka@demogr.mpg.de)


“VOLUNTARILY PUT THEMSELVES IN HARM’S WAY”: THE ‘BAIT-AND-SWITCH’ OF SAFETY TRAINING IN THE CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY
Kris Paap (kpaap@hamilton.edu)


PART III. TRAINING AND PERSISTENT INEQUALITIES

JOB TRAINING FOR WOMEN LEAVING WELFARE: ASSESSING INTEREST IN NONTRADITIONAL EMPLOYMENT
Cynthia Negrey (clnegr01@gwise.louisville.edu)
, Stacie Golin, Sunhwa Lee, and Barbara Gault

CONTEXTUAL ANALYSIS OF COMPANY JOB TRAINING: AN INVESTIGATION OF THE 1996 NATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS SURVEY
Song Yang (yangw@cavern.uark.edu)


THE EFFECTS OF AGE GROUP, TECHNOLOGY, AND SOCIAL POLICY ON ADULT WOMEN’S TRAINING PARTICIPATION
Patricia A. Simpson (psimpso@luc.edu)
and Linda K. Stroh